Crayons

Rhyme Cube: Click here for a description

Sign Language:  “Color” (“Crayon” was a little too difficult so I decided to teach them “color” which is very simple)

Opening Rhyme:  Open them, shut them…

First Book:  The Crayon Box That Talked by Shane DeRolf

Felt Board:  I Have a Crayon

I have a crayon, I’ll give it to you.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of blue.

I have a crayon, a lovely little fellow.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of yellow.

I have a crayon, it’s here on my head.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of red.

I have a crayon, we can draw a circle.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of purple.

I have a crayon, what do I see?
Here is my crayon, an orange one for me.

I have a crayon, the best ever seen.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of green

.crayons1

I placed the felt crayons on the board as I recited the rhyme.  I tried to let the kids guess the colors before I put the crayon on the board.  They were good at figuring out which color was next based on the rhyme.

(The rhyme came from Abby the Librarian)

Rhyme:  If You’re Wearing Red…

If you’re wearing red today, red today, red today
If you’re wearing red today, please stand up!

(continue with all the colors that the group is wearing.  And change the actions too – please clap your hands, please stomp your feet, wiggle your ears, please jump up and down, etc.)

(This rhyme came from Kings County Library System wiki)

Second Book:  Monsters Love Colors by Mike Austin

Activity:  Hold Your Crayon Up

For this activity I used our die-cut machine to cut crayons out of different colored paper.  I gave each kid three crayons (red, blue, and green) and asked them to place them on the floor in front of them.  I told the kids to listen carefully to the directions and follow along.  Here’s what I asked them to do:

“Put your Blue crayon in the air hold it high and leave it there.
Put your Blue crayon on your back
Now please lay it in your lap.
Hold your Blue crayon in your hand
Now everyone please stand.
Wave your Blue crayon at the door
Now please lay it on the floor.
Hold your Blue crayon and jump, jump, jump.
Hold your Blue crayon way, way up!”

Continue with the red and green crayons.

Paper crayons:

crayon paper Sorry for the blurry picture!

(Rhyme from Sunflower Storytime)

Third Book:  My Crayons Talk by Patricia Hubbard

Felt Board:  Missing Crayon

Place the different colored felt crayons on the board (I like to do it in rainbow order) and have the kids name the colors as you point to them.  Next, turn the board around and remove one crayon.  Recite this rhyme:

“I know the colors in the crayon box.
Do you know them too?
If one color were missing,
Would you know the hue?”

Turn the board back around to show the kids and have them guess which one is missing.

crayons2

Which Book Did You Like Best?

Hold up each book one at a time and ask the kids to raise their hands for their favorite.  Then say “If you like all three books raise both hands and say ‘WOO! WOO! WOO!'” (wave your hands in the air like a lunatic)

Goodbye Song:

Tickle the clouds.
Tickle your toes.
Turn around and
Tickle your nose.
Reach down low.
Reach way up high.
Storytime is over,
So wave goodbye!