To the Moon!

A few weeks ago I did a space themed storytime.  Here’s what I did:

After starting off with my Rhyme Cube we moved on to the sign language word of the day –

Sign Language:  “Moon”

I always teach the kids one word in sign language and then have them repeat it after each book we read.

Opening Rhyme: Open them, shut them…

First Book:  Zoom! Zoom! Zoom! by Yaccarino

Flannel Board:

I recited the following rhyme as a added the corresponding flannel pieces to the board-

“We’re flying off to space.  We’re flying off to space.  I think we’ll see the moon up there!  We’re flying off to space.”

Continue with:

….I think we’ll see some planets up there!

….I think we’ll see some stars up there!

….Maybe we’ll see some aliens up there!

(I found the rhyme at the Story Share wiki)

Once everything was on the board, here’s what it looked like:

flying off to space

Second Book:  Eight Days Gone by McReynolds

Eight Days Gone

This book has beautiful illustrations and I love finding non-fiction books that work well in storytime.

Rhyme:

Astronaut, astronaut, turn around.

Astronaut, astronaut, touch the ground.

Astronaut, astronaut, jump up high.

Astronaut, astronaut, touch the sky.

Astronaut, astronaut, tie your shoe.

Astronaut, astronaut, that will do!

Activity: Blastoff!

Next we pretended to be rockets (I stole this idea from Sunflower Storytime).  We crouched down and put our hands (palms together) above our heads.  Then we counted down from 10 until “BLAST OFF” when we all jumped high into the air!  So much fun.

Third Book:  Higher! Higher! by Patricelli

Flannel Board:

This next flannel board was lots of fun.  I stole it from Mel’s Desk.

The rhyme is as follows:

“If you’re going to the moon, wear your boots (stomp, stomp)

If you’re going to the moon, wear your boots (stomp, stomp)

If you’re going to the moon, this is what you have to do

If you’re going to the moon wear your boots (stomp, stomp)”

Continue with  “…wear your gloves (clap, clap)”  and  “…wear your helmet (pat, pat)”

I had the kids do the motions as I put the flannel pieces on the board.

astronaut

2 thoughts on “To the Moon!

Leave a Reply

